UNH Manchester Student Leadership Award recipients pose on campus

Students, staff and faculty gathered on Wednesday evening for the Student Leadership Awards, a ceremony recognizing students for their contributions to UNH Manchester, from engagement in student clubs to employment across various departments of the college.

In his remarks at the event, UNH Manchester Dean Mike Decelle acknowledged that developing leadership skills not only benefits the students individually, but also the community as a whole.

“We all know how important academic success is, but equally important to a student’s success after graduation is how students involve themselves in their community," Decelle said. “The awards that students will receive today recognize the individuals’ leadership achievements and contributions to student life on campus and within the greater Manchester community.”

Congratulations to the award recipients below and to all the nominees—and thank you for all you do for our campus community.

  • Organization Wildcat Pride Award: Biology Club
    This award honors an organization for outstanding external representation of pride and spirit associated with being part of the UNH College of Professional Studies. We are proud to recognize the Biology Club, one of the most active organizations on campus that has hosted multiple events and charity fundraisers.
  • Rising Student Leader Award: Alexis Hilborn
    This award recognizes a student that actively demonstrates attributes of an emerging leader through their actions and character. Alexis personifies this award, bringing enthusiasm to her roles as a Peer Leader and member of the Student Government Association.
  • Graduate Student Leader Award: Seth Marcotte
    This award honors a graduate student who has made significant positive contributions to the college community. With a strong work ethic and concern for his fellow students, Seth's mentorship of classmates exemplifies leading by example.
  • Building Community Award: Tristin Garvin
    This award honors a student who actively contributes to a sense of community on campus. A tireless organizer of fun and stress-reducing events on campus, Tristin is a force in fostering community among students.
  • Student Worker of the Year Award: Delaney Cote and Arianna Bikombe
    This award honors the outstanding contributions and achievements of students who hold federal work-study positions on campus or in community service positions. From giving a campus tour to prospective students to staffing the graduate school or student engagement desks, Delaney puts her all into everything she does on campus. Arianna has made a massive impact on student life through her publication of The Flush weekly newsletter, creative programming as a member of the Campus Activity Board and her work as a greeter at the security desk.
  • Undergraduate Student Leader Award: Abigail Gendron
    This award recognizes a student who has demonstrated commitment to developing their leadership identity and making contributions to our campus every day. From serving in multiple leadership roles to working with the ESOL program to contributing to biotech programs in the Biotechnology Innovation Center, Abigail has been an outstanding leader and role model for students.